Tuesday, May 5, 2015
Imagine this: you have a few drinks with friends, though definitely not enough to be impaired. As you drive home, you notice the reflection of blue and red lights flashing in the rear view mirror. The moment you hear the distinct wail of a police car siren, your heart begins to race. The last thing you want is to be arrested on suspicion of DUI. A DUI charge is no fun. The consequences for DUI charges range from 24 hours to 1 year in jail, $865.50 to $5,000, and 90 days to 1 year suspension of your driver’s license—and that’s only for first time offenders. This is why you’ll want to avoid being charged with DUI in the first place.
Monday, May 4, 2015
A King County jury recently found a 49-year-old woman from Auburn guilty of abusing the family that had been staying at her home for three years. According to the Auburn Reporter, “The jury found Maria Esquivel guilty of first-degree assault-domestic violence, second-degree rape DV and three counts of second-degree assault DV.” It was also found that Esquivel had a history of domestic violence, which further hurt her case. She is now looking at a minimum sentence of 17 years and a maximum of life in prison. While Esquivel is going to prison for good, her case is more severe as she also faces other charges. In terms of domestic violence alone, the state of Washington punishes those who are convicted of domestic violence depending on the seriousness of the offense as well as any previous cases.
A DUI on record carries some serious implications, whether you’re the driver or passenger. For one, you can be denied entry into Canada. According to Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC), Canadian border officials can block any person with a DUI charge or other crimes under the Criminal Code of Canada from entering the country. Even if you’re just a passenger, Consul Harkiran Rajasansi at the Canadian Consulate in Seattle says passengers are no exemption.
Some DUI victims, or their families, are saying that Washington isn’t taking DUI seriously enough. While it follows the federally-mandated blood alcohol content (BAC) limit of 0.08, the state has a 0.04 limit for commercial drivers and 0.02 limit for minors. By comparison, the anti-DUI North Carolina has a near-zero tolerance for commercial and minor drivers. In response to this widespread criticisms, state lawmakers have started making strides to take DUI more seriously, starting with Senate Bill 5105. Under this bill, a fourth DUI offense incurred within ten years of the last one would be a Class-C felony. Families of victims of DUI accidents support the call for stricter state DUI laws. As of April, the bill is scheduled for a Third Reading.