Friday, February 5, 2016
Driving under the influence, or DUI, is a very serious charge. If you are convicted, even as a first offense, you can face serious penalties. If you are facing DUI charges, you are encouraged to speak to a DUI lawyer about building a defense for these charges. Your lawyer will look over all of the facts of your case and determine the best defense for the charges against you. There are many reasons that you may have been thought to be DUI, while in fact you were perfectly legal to operate a motor vehicle. Your attorney can work with you on these defenses and help you prove your case in Court.
Thursday, February 4, 2016
Being charged with DUI, or driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, carry heavy penalties in any state, and especially so in the State of Washington. That’s because Washington has some of the toughest drunk driving laws in the nation. Getting stopped for a DUI in Washington means risking your freedom as well as your money, thus you must seek immediate help from a DUI lawyer. Penalties for DUI Charges in Washington For the first offense, a person faces jail time from a day to a year, along with a suspension of their license from 90 days to a year. People caught for the second time, on the other hand, faces jail time of over 30 days to a year and will get their license suspended for as long as two years.
Wednesday, February 3, 2016
If you are charged with driving under the influence of alcohol, you may be taken into custody and booked at the county jail. However, it does not mean that you are guilty of the crime. In some cases, it may be possible to have the charge reduced through a plea or even dropped because of a lack of evidence, especially when a DUI lawyer presents any of these defenses. Was the Traffic Stop Legal? The first question an attorney will ask is whether or not the traffic stop leading to the charge was legal. If you were asked to pull over at a checkpoint, any resulting DUI charge will be dismissed if your interaction with the police did not follow the guidelines of the checkpoint. If you were pulled over without probable cause for an officer to stop you, any resulting DUI charge could be dropped.
Tuesday, February 2, 2016
Broadly defined, domestic violence occurs when someone in a romantic relationship is physically or emotionally abused by their partner. While many victims of domestic violence are women, men can also be victims, and the law treats victims of both genders equally under the law. Though heavy punishments come with domestic violence charges, many men and women still experience them. These charges can even be harder to face if you have been falsely accused of such an act. Being charged with domestic violence is no laughing matter, for you could lose parental rights, face jail time or have to register as a sexual offender. Avoid these by seeking help from a trusted defense attorney.
It’s never a good idea to mix drinking and driving, yet there are times when anyone can make a poor choice. When that happens, people who happened to have a few drinks before driving will feel nervous upon seeing the flash of those unmistakable blue and red lights. If you are stopped by the police, remember to keep calm and be cooperative. The police officer may ask you to perform field sobriety exercises or to take a breath test. Breath Tests, or Breathalyzer If you are driving a motor vehicle in the state of Washington, you have given what is known as implied consent to a breath test. This means that even though you have not formally stated or written that you agree to the test, by driving, you have accepted it as a condition of driving.
Washington State has strict definitions for drunk driving, and the penalties for driving under the influence can be steep. It’s never recommended to defend yourself in court, and this is particularly true when you’re dealing with DUI charges. Rather than taking chances with jail time and fines, see how a DUI attorney can help you protect your rights and work through this matter. Lower Levels Like many states across the country, Washington has lowered the limits for drunk drivers. Currently, you may be charged with DUI if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over 0.08 percent. If you’re a commercial driver, then the limit is 0.04%, and people under the age of 21 cannot have a BAC of more than 0.02 percent.